Click our logo for the Sierra Club homepage.
Printer-friendly version Share:  Share this page on FacebookShare this page on TwitterShare this page by emailShare this page with other services

Barbara Postles Receives National Sierra Club Award

SAN FRANCISCO - Sept. 15, 2001 - South Carolina Chapter member Barbara Postles was among those receiving national awards from the Sierra Club this year.

Postles received the club's Susan E. Miller award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the organization at the chapter level. Postles served as chair of the South Carolina Chapter from 1994-1996. Under her leadership, the chapter drafted a five-year strategic plan that moved the chapter forward both in its conservation mission and its organizational structure.

Postles also has served as chapter vice chair, newsletter editor, chair of the chapter's Policy and Planning Committee, chair of its Personnel Committee and chair of its Centennial Celebration Committee. She currently serves as chair of the Atlantic Coast Ecoregional Task Force and was instrumental in the recent creation of the Waccamaw River Foundation, which is seeking to conserve a very valuable, but highly threatened river near Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

"Barbara has earned the respect of volunteers throughout the chapter with her dynamic leadership capabilities and her vision for the chapter," said current Chapter Chair Ed Fitzgerald.

Postles is the fourth South Carolina Chapter member to receive the Susan Miller Award. Previous chapter recipients include Richard Watkins, Linda Winecoff and Nancy Stone-Collum. Postles also was honored as the South Carolina Chapter's "Sierran of the Year" for 2000-2001.

Sierra Club® and "Explore, enjoy and protect the planet"® are registered trademarks of the Sierra Club. © 2015 Sierra Club.
The Sierra Club Seal is a registered copyright, service mark, and trademark of the Sierra Club.