Click our logo for the Sierra Club homepage.
Printer-friendly version Share:  Share this page on FacebookShare this page on TwitterShare this page by emailShare this page with other services

Descriptions of Sierra Club National Awards

Ansel Adams Award. Honors an individual who has made superlative use of still photography to further a conservation cause.

Communication Award. Honors the best use of communications (either print or electronic) by a Sierra Club group, chapter or other entity to further the Club's mission. Up to two may be awarded annually.

David Brower Award. Recognizes outstanding environmental reporting or editorial comment that contributes to a better understanding of environmental issues.

Denny and Ida Wilcher Award. This $3,000 award honors a Sierra Club chapter or group for outstanding work in membership development and/or fundraising, including increasing diversity of membership and/or donors. Judging criteria include creativity, originality and ratio of funds raised to expenses.

Distinguished Achievement Award. Honors persons in public service for a particular action of singular importance to conservation. Up to three may be awarded annually.

Distinguished Service Award. Honors persons in public service for strong and consistent commitment to conservation over a considerable period of time. Up to three may be awarded annually.

Edgar Wayburn Award. Honors outstanding service to the environmental cause by a public official.

Environmental Alliance Award. Honors Club members or entities who have helped further environmental goals through collaboration with other, non-Sierra Club constituencies.

Francis P. Farquhar Mountaineering Award. Honors an individual's contribution to mountaineering and enhancement of the Club's prestige in this field. The Mountaineering Oversight Committee selects recipients.

John Muir Award. The highest award conferred by the Sierra Club. Honors a distinguished record of achievement in national or international conservation causes. Recipients receive life membership in the Sierra Club.

Joseph Barbosa Award. Recognizes club members under the age of 30 who have a demonstrated record of service to the environment. Includes an award of up to $500 to further the work of the recipient(s).

International - The Chico Mendes Award. Recognizes individuals or non-governmental organizations, outside the United States who have exhibited extraordinary courage and leadership, at the grassroots level, in the universal struggle to protect the environment. The International Team nominates recipients.

International - Earthcare Award. Honors an individual, organization, or agency distinguished by making a unique contribution to international environmental protection and conservation. The International Team nominates recipients.

International - Raymond J. Sherwin Award. Honors extraordinary volunteer service toward international conservation. The International Team nominates recipients.

Madelyn Pyeatt Award. Honors Sierra Club members who have made outstanding contributions through working with youth. Includes a $500 award to further the work of the recipient(s).

Oliver Kehrlein Award. Honors service to the Sierra Club Outings Program either at the local or national level over an extended period of time.

One-Club Award. Honors club members at any level who have used outings as a way to protect or improve public lands, instill an interest in conservation, increase membership in the Sierra Club, or increase awareness of the Sierra Club.

Robert Bullard Environmental Justice Award. Honors individuals or groups that have done outstanding work in the area of environmental justice.

Special Achievement Award. Honors an individual Sierra Club member, committee, group or chapter for a single act of particular importance dedicated to conservation or to the Club. Up to three may be awarded annually.

Special Service Award. Honors a Sierra Club member, committee or group for strong and consistent commitment to conservation or the Club over an extended period of time. Up to three may be awarded annually.

Susan E. Miller Award. Honors administrative contributions to groups, chapters and regional entities. Up to three Susan E. Miller awards may be given annually.

Walter A. Starr Award. Honors the continuing active work and support of the Club by a former director.

William E. Colby Award. Honors an individual for outstanding leadership, dedication and service to the Sierra Club. Acknowledges service within the Sierra Club's organizational structure but may include conservation achievements.

William O. Douglas Award. Recognizes those who have made outstanding use of the legal/judicial process to achieve environmental goals, particularly those with national significance.

Sierra Club® and "Explore, enjoy and protect the planet"® are registered trademarks of the Sierra Club. © 2015 Sierra Club.
The Sierra Club Seal is a registered copyright, service mark, and trademark of the Sierra Club.