Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?

Planet Main
In This Section
Bush Wages War on Parks, Wilderness
Dollars Not 'Dozers
  Club Opposes Road Through Smokies, Pushes Cash Settlement
Waking Up from Highway Hangover
Environmental Rules Pay Off
And the Winner Is . . .
  Club leaders gather to present 2003 National Awards
  From the Editor:
Getting the Word Out
Stopping King Coal
Animal Rights and Wrongs
Who We Are
One-Minute Activist
PDF version of the planet
Search for an Article
Free Subscription
Back Issues

The Planet
And the Winner Is . . .

Club leaders gather to present 2003 National Awards

A photographer whose pictures of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge created a national controversy, a congressman who helped protect California’s Big Sur, a woman who has climbed more than 4,200 peaks, and a radio host were among those honored recently with national awards from the Sierra Club.

The Sierra Club’s highest honor, the John Muir Award, which honors a distinguished record of achievement, was given to Vivian Newman, a volunteer from Maine who has spent two decades working to protect the integrity of our nation’s coasts, waters and wetlands.

Subhankar Banerjee, a former Boeing engineer from Bellevue, Washington, is the recipient of a Special Achievement Award for the publication of his book, "Arctic National Wildlife Refuge: Seasons of Life." Banerjee left his job to spend 14 months taking pictures in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. He was catapulted into the national spotlight this spring when an exhibition of his work at the Smithsonian Institution’s Museum of Natural History was mysteriously moved from the rotunda to the basement, setting off a flurry of articles in such prominent publications as the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Newsweek, and others.

Other Special Achievement Awards went to Gina Carola of Westville, New Jersey, and Marilyn Wall of Cincinnati, Ohio.

Salt Lake City Mayor Rocky Anderson and Benjamin Brumberg, former ombudsman for the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, were recognized with Distinguished Service Awards, honoring persons in public service for strong and consistent commitment to conservation.

Steve Curwood of National Public Radio received the David Brower Award for environmental journalism. Curwood hosts the weekly "Living on Earth" program, which is heard on more than 230 National Public Radio stations.

Representative Sam Farr (D-Calif.) received the Edgar Wayburn Award, which honors service to the environment by a person in government.

" At a time when there is an all out assault on clean air, clean water, and wilderness, Representative Farr has shown extraordinary leadership in the environmental field, both locally and nationally," said Sierra Club President Larry Fahn. Farr sponsored the Big Sur Wilderness and Conservation Act of 2002, which gave permanent protection to the last unprotected federal lands in the Big Sur backcountry.

Barbara Lilley of Simi Valley, California, was recognized for her mountaineering
accomplishments, which include reaching more than 4,200 different summits from the Sierra Nevada to Africa. Lilley was one of the first women to climb Mount McKinley (now Denali) in Alaska. She received the Francis P. Farquhar Mountaineering Award.

The Ansel Adams Award for conservation photography went to Douglas Steakley of Carmel, California, for his photography of Big Sur.

Isaac Hall of Maui received the William O. Douglas Award for contributions in the field of environmental law. Over the past 25 years, Hall has litigated more cases on behalf of the environment than any other attorney in Hawaii.

The Environmental Alliance Award, which includes a $1,000 prize from the Joseph Barbosa Earth Fund, was awarded to the Winyah Group of the Sierra Club’s South Carolina Chapter. The Group was recognized for its work with other organizations to protect the waters of the Waccamaw River and its watershed, which straddles the South Carolina/North Carolina border.

A new award for 2003, the Madelyn Pyeatt Award, was given to Madelyn Pyeatt of Bellingham, Washington. This award recognizes the contributions of Club members working with youth. Pyeatt led more than 500 outings for inner city children in the San Francisco Bay Area before recently moving to Washington.

Others awards:

The EarthCare Award, honoring an individual, organization, or agency that has made a unique contribution to international environmental protection and conservation: The International POPS Elimination Network (IPEN).

The Electronic Communication Award: Christopher Kelley of Hudson, New Hampshire.

Newsletter Award: The Mackinac (published by the Michigan Chapter) and the Desert Report (published by the California/Nevada Desert Committee).

The Oliver Kehrlein Award for outstanding service to the Club’s Outings program: Rudy Scheffer of Safety Harbor, Florida.

The One Club Award, recognizing people who use outings as a way to instill an interest in conservation and protecting public lands: Robert Keane of Miliani, Hawaii.

The Raymond Sherwin International Award for international conservation: Carolyn Carr of Auburn, Alabama.

Special Service Awards for strong and consistent commitment to conservation over an extended period of time: David Raney of Honolulu, Hawaii; Brian Scherf of Hollywood, Florida; Susie Shields of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; and the late Jim Stephens of Hapeville, Georgia.

The Susan E. Miller Award for outstanding service to Sierra Club chapters: Julia Bott of San Mateo, California; and Ralph Salisbury of Riverside, California.

The Walter A. Starr Award, for continuing support of the Club by a former director: Ann Pogue of Solano Beach, California, and Tony Ruckel of Denver, Colorado.

For more, visit www.

Up to Top