Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?

Planet Main
In This Section
The Planet Turns Ten
Tearing Up Appalachia
Engaging Our Members
Coalition Sends Pipeline Contractor Walking
How to Protect Homes from Forest Fires?
Cut all the Trees.
Who We Are
PDF version of the planet
Search for an Article
Free Subscription
Back Issues

The Planet
Club Honors Staff

Award winners (from to bottom): Hamilton Leong, Kathryn Hohmann, Rosa Malone, Jeff Tittel,Mark Bettinger, Catherine Corkery, and Kurt Ehrenberg.

On April 16, Sierra Club staff gathered at Club headquarters in San Francisco to honor this year’s Employee Award winners, nominated by their fellow employees and selected by last year’s award recipients.

Hamilton Leong was the winner of this year’s Behind the Scenes Hero Award, saluting an employee whose efforts, skills, and talents have consistently supported and enabled others to advance the Club’s mission. Leong has worked for the Sierra Club for 12 years, most recently as controller in the Finance Department.

Kathryn Hohmann received this year’s Community Service Award, given in recognition of a commitment to helping others through public service or community involvement in a non-Sierra Club cause. Hohmann is a senior regional representative in Bozeman, Montana. She received this award for her four years of volunteer service with the Child Advancement Project, which matches elementary school students with mentors who provide friendship, support, and encouragement.

Rosa Malone received the Virginia Ferguson Award, honoring an employee who has demonstrated consistent and exemplary service to the Sierra Club, not only through competence and longevity of employment, but also in congenial attitude and unquestionable integrity. Malone has been with the Club off and on since 1977 and in the Human Resources department for 13 years.

Jeff Tittel won this year’s Excellence Award, given to an employee who has displayed a distinguished and consistent record of achievement in implementing ideas, systems, programs, or services that have resulted in substantial improvements to Club operations and helped advance the Club’s message. As New Jersey Chapter director, Tittel formed and now leads an effective working coalition of environmental groups in the state which claims a long list of accomplishments.

Mark Bettinger, Catherine Corkery, and Kurt Ehrenberg received this year’s Special Achievement Award, acknowledging an achievement that has benefited, changed, or streamlined the work of the Sierra Club, enhanced its public image, and communicated its message. Bettinger, the Club’s Northeast field director, and Corkery and Ehrenberg, New Hampshire regional representatives, were honored for their leadership in creating, successfully implementing, and evaluating the Club’s flagship Building Environmental Communities and Environmental Voter Education Campaign in New Hampshire, establishing the model for all other such programs.

The Club also honored 4 employees who have contributed 20 years of service: Sue De La Rosa, Beth Reilly, Barbara Boyle, and Bill Arthur.

Up to Top