Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?

November 1999 Planet Main
In This Section
Polish Pig Farmers
Election 2000
Volunteers Honored
Solving Sprawl
Open Space
Land-use Planning
Transportation Planning
Community Revitalization


Search for an Article
Free Subscription
Back Issues
The Planet

Volunteers Honored

A woman whose efforts helped protect millions of acres of desert land was among the 18 activists honored at the Sierra Club's annual awards dinner in San Francisco in September.

The Club's top award, the John Muir Award, went to California resident Judy Anderson for her work in shaping and securing passage of the California Desert Protection Act of 1994. The bill increased the levels of protection on 9 million acres of land by creating two national parks, one national preserve and 69 Bureau of Land Management wilderness areas.

"Without Judy Anderson's contributions it is extremely doubtful that the act would have passed," said Club President Chuck McGrady.

Anderson chaired the California Desert Protection League of 120 environmental organizations and held the coalition together from 1985 through 1994.

A new award, the One Club Award, which recognizes volunteers who use outings to instill an interest in conservation and protect public lands, went to Maui Group member Mary Evanson. The award included a $1,000 prize that will help activists to preserve the last wild coastline in South Maui.

The Joseph Barbosa Earth Fund Award, which honors Club members under age 30 who have demonstrated a commitment to the environment, was given to Sierra Student Coalition activist Elizabeth Hagan, a sophomore majoring in public policy at Harvard. Hagan took a year off from college to organize several campaigns for the SSC, one to save the Great Bear Rainforest. She also organized SSC's first Public Lands Action Summit in Washington, D.C. Hagan, who hails from Atlanta, will receive a $2,000 prize that will help the SSC sponsor its second Public Lands Action Summit next spring.

Another new award, the Electronic Communication Award, was given to Josh Weisman, Jeffrey Solari and Will Easton of San Francisco for their development of the Sierra Club's sprawl Web site at

Others receiving awards for 1999 included the following:

The William O. Douglas Award (for contributions in the field of environmental law): Tony Ruckel of Denver, Colo.

The Walter A. Starr Award (for continuing support of the Club by a former director): Helen Burke of the San Francisco Bay Chapter.

The Oliver Kehrlein Award (for outstanding service to the Outing program): Herbert Carlton of Greenville, N.C.

Special Achievement Award (recognizes a single act of importance dedicated to conservation): Dick Simpson of Palo Alto, Calif.

Special Service Awards (for strong and consistent commitment to conservation over an extended period of time): Richard Hellard of Juneau, Alaska; Jono Miller of Sarasota, Fla.; Laurie Macdonald of St. Petersburg, Fla., and Lucille Vinyard of Trinidad, Calif.

Newsletter Award: The Georgia Sierran (Georgia Chapter), Toiyabe Trails (Toiyabe Chapter) and It's Our Nature (Fox Valley Group).

The Edgar Wayburn Award (for service to the environmental cause by a person in government): Former Arkansas Governor and U.S. Senator Dale Bumpers.

The David R. Brower Award (for excellence in environmental journalism): Tom Kenworthy of the Washington Post Denver office.

Up to Top