Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?
Sierra Main
In This Section
  September/October 2000 Features:
Why Vote?
Five ordinary people who depend on your vote
Who Owns Your Congressperson?
Love of High Places
Man of Two Minds
Big Timber's Big Lies!
Inside Sierra
Ways & Means
Lay of the Land
Good Going
Fod for Thought
Sierra Club Bulletin
Web Extra
Mixed Media
Updates: Only on the web!
Last Words

Sierra Magazine
From Grassroots to Government

Are environmental activists more effective as outside agitators or inside advocates? Dozens of Sierra Club chapter chairs have weighed this question and leapt head-first into the political arena--and more are campaigning for elective office each year. Here are just a few of the Sierra Club leaders who have been elected to public office.

UPDATE: The list of elected officials who got their start through the Sierra Club just keeps growing. Read about the latest crop in the October 2003 issue of the Planet.




Raul Alvarez

Former Lone Star Chapter (Texas) Environmental Justice Director

Austin City Councilmember
2000 to present

Robert Barber South Carolina Chapter Lobbyist Former South Carolina State Representative, 1988 to 1994
Spencer Black Former John Muir Chapter Chair Wisconsin State Representative, 1985 to present
Joe Bolkcom Former Iowa Chapter ExCom member Iowa State Senator, 1998 to present
Sharon Bronson Former Southern Arizona Chapter Campaign Coordinator Pima County Supervisor, 1996 to present
Deborah Dawkins Former Mississippi Chapter Chair Mississippi State Senate, 2000 to present
David Finkelstein Alaska Chapter Conservation Committee member Former Alaska State Representative, 1989 to 1996
Guy Guzzone Former Maryland Chapter Director Howard County Councilmember, 1998 to present
Steve Holmes Hawai'i Chapter Conservation Chair Honolulu Chair Councilmember, 1991 to present
Brett Hulsey Senior Midwest Representative Dane County (Wisconsin) Supervisor, 1998 to present

Dell Isham

South Carolina Chapter Executive Director

Former Oregon State Senator, 1977 to 1985

Joseph Johnson Toiyabe Chapter Lobbyist Former Nevada State Assemblyman
Lyle R. Krewson Iowa Chapter Lobbyist Former Iowa State Representative, 1977 to 1984
Susan Merrow Former Sierra Club President First Selectman (Mayor/Town Manager) of East Haddom, Connecticut
Gary Peters Former Mackinac Chapter Area Issues Chair Michigan State Senator, 1994 tp present
Albert Clarkson Pollard, Jr. Former Virginia Chapter Lobbyist and Director Virginia State House of Delegates, 2000 to present
Brian Emmanuel Schatz Former Hawaii Chapter ExCom member Hawaii State Representative, 1999 to present
Greg Studen Former Northeast Ohio Group Conservation Chair Russell Township Trustee, 2000 to present
Norman E. Wallen Grand Canyon Chapter ExCom member Flagstaff (Arizona) City Councilmember, 1996 to present
William George Witt Former Iowa Chapter Chair Iowa State Representative, 1993 to present

Up to Top

HOME | Email Signup | About Us | Contact Us | Terms of Use | © 2008 Sierra Club