Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?

November 2000 Planet Main
In This Section
  November 2000 Features:
Black and White Stand Together in Mississippi
2000 Endorsements
Sprawl Report: 50 State Survey
Sneaking Under Big Pig's Snout
Volunteer Awards
From the Editor
Who We Are
Search for an Article
Free Subscription
Back Issues

The Planet
Stacks of Plaques at Annual Awards Fete

The fight to protect giant sequoia trees in California was not an easy one for Carla Cloer, a small-town school teacher whose fellow residents did not share her passion. She was called names in letters to the editor and chewed out on the street. But in April, when President Clinton designated the Giant Sequoia National Monument, Cloer was close at hand with tears welling in her eyes.

Cloer was among those who were honored at the annual Sierra Club awards ceremony on Sept. 23 in San Francisco. She received the John Muir Award - the highest honor the Club gives to volunteer activists.

"If it were not for the work Carla has done during the past 20 years, it is doubtful that we would have a Giant Sequoia National Monument today," said Sierra Club President Robbie Cox.

New York Rep. Maurice Hinchey (D) received the Edgar Wayburn Award, which honors service to the environment by a person in government. Hinchey has represented New York's 26th Congressional District since 1993. Since his first term in Congress he has championed the Utah wilderness bill, now known as "America's Redrock Wilderness Act," and has persuaded numerous lawmakers to support it as well.

Washington Post reporter Michael Grunwald received the David R. Brower Award for environmental journalism for his series of investigative reports on the Army Corps of Engineers. His articles exposing the Corps' manipulation of data to justify destructive water projects - like new locks on the Mississippi River - have sparked congressional investigations, a National Academy of Sciences investigation, a Defense Department investigation, congressional hearings and nationwide calls for independent review of proposed and existing Corps water projects.

The Joseph Barbosa Earth Fund Award, which honors persons under age 30 who have demonstrated a commitment to the environment, was given to Chicago resident Patrick Murphy, a founder and co-chair of the Sierra Club Illinois Chapter's Utah Wilderness Task Force. Murphy also serves as national conservation director for the Sierra Student Coalition, the student arm of the Sierra Club. The award included a $2,000 prize from the Joseph Barbosa Earth Fund that will be divided between the Sierra Student Coalition and the National Utah Wilderness Task Force to help further Murphy's work with those organizations.

Other Sierra Club awards for 2000 include the following:

  • The Ansel Adams Award (for conservation photography): Clyde Butcher of Ochopee, Fla.

  • The William O. Douglas Award (for contributions in the field of environmental law): Eric Huber of New Orleans, La.

  • The Raymond J. Sherwin International Award (for international conservation): Beth Clark of the Antarctica Project.

  • The Chico Mendes Award (recognizes individuals or non-governmental organizations outside the United States who have exhibited extraordinary courage and leadership in the struggle to protect the environment): Mexican anti-logging activist Rodolfo Montiel Flores.

  • The EarthCare Award (honors an individual, organization or agency that has made a unique contribution to international environmental protection and conservation): The Bellona Foundation of Norway.

  • The William E. Colby Award (for outstanding leadership, dedication and service to the Sierra Club): Marjorie Sill of Reno, Nev.

  • The Walter A. Starr Award (for continuing support of the Club by a former director): Shirley Taylor of Los Gatos, Calif.

  • The Oliver Kehrlein Award (for outstanding service to the Club's Outings program): Carol Vellutini of Santa Rosa, Calif.

  • Susan E. Miller Award (for outstanding service to Sierra Club chapters): Robin and Lori Ives of Claremont, Calif.

  • One Club Award (recognizes people who use outings as a way to instill an interest in conservation and protecting public lands): Camille Armstrong of San Diego, Calif.

  • Denny and Ida Wilcher Award (for excellence in fundraising and/or membership development): the Central Florida Group, the Santa Fe Group and the Poudre Canyon (Colorado) Group.

  • Special Achievement Award (recognizes a single act of importance dedicated to conservation): Harold Wood of Visalia, Calif., and the Rio Grande (New Mexico) Chapter.

  • Special Service Awards (for strong and consistent commitment to conservation over an extended period of time): George Barnes of Palo Alto, Calif.; Peter Belmont of St. Petersburg, Fla.; Jan Swenson, Gerhard Raedeke and Diane Warner of Bismark, N.D.; the Santa Monica Mountains Task Force (Angeles Chapter) and Dennis Schvejda of North Haledon, N.J.

  • Electronic Communication Award (for best Sierra Club Web page): Charlotte Gardner (Georgia Chapter and Savannah River Group).

  • Newsletter Award The Chesapeake (Maryland Chapter) and The Del-aware Sierran (Delaware Chapter).

Up to Top