Sierra Club Home Page   Environmental Update  
chapter button
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
Click here to visit the Member Center.         
Take Action
Get Outdoors
Join or Give
Inside Sierra Club
Press Room
Politics & Issues
Sierra Magazine
Sierra Club Books
Apparel and Other Merchandise
Contact Us

Join the Sierra ClubWhy become a member?

Planet Main
In This Section
  July/August 2002 Features:
Fewer Seat Warmers, More Miles Per Gallon
Students Re-Engineer Ford Explorer to Burn Less Gas
Gulf Sturgeon Wins Protection
Tour the Sierra Club's website
Board Members and Officers Elected
Letter from the President
Natural Resources
Who We Are
Search for an Article
Free Subscription
Back Issues

The Planet
Board Members and Officers Elected

In April, Sierra Club members elected four new members and one incumbent to the 15-member board of directors. The election winners were Ben Zuckerman, a physics and astronomy professor at the University of California, Los Angeles; Jim Catlin, a project director with the Wild Utah Project in Salt Lake City; Chuck McGrady, a youth-camp owner in Tuxedo, N.C.; Marcia Hanscom, a wetlands-protection activist in southern California; and incumbent Larry Fahn, executive director of the San Francisco-based As You Sow Foundation.

In its May meeting at the Club's national headquarters in San Francisco, the board elected five officers by unanimous ballot. Continuing as president is Jennifer Ferenstein, an organizer for the Montana Environmental Information Center; the vice president is Larry Fahn; secretary is Jan O'Connell, an environmental activist from Grand Rapids, Mich.; treasurer is Chuck McGrady; and the fifth member of the executive committee is Ed Dobson, an attorney for the Navajo Tribe's Legal Services in Bluff, Utah.

Up to Top